Travels With Steinbeck



New Format Introduced

Come and ride along with me as I follow the Steinbeck route around the U.S. and “rediscover this monster land.”

I figured God rested on the 7th day and did not blog so I followed that example and took yesterday off. For this post I’m experimenting with a new format. I plan to use it as a template for later posts. Hope you like it and find it easy to follow.

Itinerary: Some of the wonderful reader folks who have offered feedback (okay, mostly family and friends, but not all) have asked that I post a regular itinerary. Of course that will require being on the road to have much relevance so for now I will simply use this space to count down the days.

Two weeks until departure!

The Landscape: In this section I will report what I’ve observed about my surroundings on that particular day as we drive around America.

Profile: Here I will profile folks I encounter on the route and include snippets of our conversations.

The Steinbeck Connection: It goes without saying that one of my primary goals is to make connections to Steinbeck’s journey and to see, as much as possible, what he saw.  So for instance, if I’m fortunate enough to meet someone in Deer Isle, Maine whose mother used to talk about the September in the early sixties that John Steinbeck came through in his truck, Rocinante, I will include it here.

The Dog: I anticipate, as was the case with Charley, that much of what transpires of interest and that is humorous will involve my dog and I will report those daily dog doings here.

Pix and Links: Of course I intend to include daily pictures and links as soon as I figure out how the heck to do that.

Sweet Notes: As I hear from people, or when I’m the recipient of an act of kindness I will report it here. For example, yesterday I learned my friend Marjie from Pittsburgh is planning to follow the blog and encourage her two wonderful, intelligent and charismatic adult children, Andrew and Meredith to come along for the ride. Also my friend Anne from my home town of Jackson, Wyoming who heads the Senior Book Club wished me a safe journey and pledged to ride along.

Finally, not every post will include every one of these subheadings and if something too exciting or important and/or detailed occurs I will break out of this format and introduce the subject as a News Flash!, if urgent, and as Personal Essay if of interest but not pressing.

I would love your feedback on this format. Thank you for your continuing interest. Let’s talk again tomorrow, shall we?

Greg Zeigler

Travels with Steinbeck: In Search of America fifty Years Later

Copyright © 2009

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Dave Hall says:

    We’re countin down the days with ya Greg. –Dave

    | Reply Posted 7 years, 12 months ago
  2. * Dave Hall says:

    P.S. Like the format. Very well organized and thought out….

    | Reply Posted 7 years, 12 months ago
  3. * Ruth Ann says:

    I really like the blog format – a window into the less formal and fun side of this experience. A nice counterpoint to the document you plan to publish.
    RA

    | Reply Posted 7 years, 12 months ago


Leave a Reply

